It looks like you have put a confirmation link in your list's welcome mail which does not equal to a confirmation mail.
In your config on the subscription tab you will find a setting "Confirmation required". This should be enabled. Only then a confirmation mail is send and only then the user is only "confirmed" after clicking the confirmation link. And only after clicking the confirmation link your welcome mail will be send.